Published by:
Mel Bay
Book w/ DVD pocket
27 Minutes/40 Pages

Song List:
  • For the Love of Uke
  • Under The Boardwalk
  • That Hawaiian Melody
  • You Made Me Love You
  • I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • Bye Bye Blackbird
  • Girl From Ipanema
  • Blue Moon
  • Dream
  • Lulu's Back In Town
  • Fly Me To The Moon
  • Ritz Cracker
  • Tonight You Belong To Me

The Joy of Uke Volume 2

Review by: Zathras
Last Updated: 8/24/05

The second volume in the Joy of Uke series is really a stand alone intermediate level disc. It is a good jump in playing level from the first volume, so I wouldn't go straight from one to the other. I would start this disc after you are very familiar with most of the common chords and can switch quickly between them.

Lyle Ritz is the guest star and appears at the beginning playing along with Jim on the opening song "For the Love of Uke." He comes back later in the disc and performs on all the songs from "Dream" on.

"Under the Boardwalk" starts the lesson portion and is a simple song with an advanced strum. This DVD concentrates on performance. Jim shows some embellishments to do between chords and techniques for performing some of the more difficult chord changes.

Everything is GCEA tuning except for "Lulu's Back in Town" and "Ritz Cracker" which are DGBE.

This is another very good all around DVD from Jim Beloff. Well presented, clear consise and to the point. The difficulty level is harder than the first but I would call it challenging not frustrating. The Lyle Ritz songs at the end are very advanced but it leaves you something to work on and grow into.

The best part about having these DVDs is just having the reference to go back to. What I did was watched it all the way through once, and then practiced the songs on my own. After playing them for a while I went back and re-watched sections to compare.

A great disc any way you look at it.


Contact Ukeland