Published by:
Mel Bay

Book with DVD in pocket

1 hr 9 mins/ 96 Pages

Song List:
  • After The Ball
  • Alabama Jubilee
  • Alexander's Ragtime Band
  • All Through The Night
  • Aloha Oe
  • Away In A Manger
  • Ballin' The Jack
  • Battle Hymn Of The Republic
  • Beautiful Brown Eyes
  • Beautiful Dreamer
  • Bicycle Built For Two
  • Bill Bailey, Won't You Please Come Home?
  • Blow, Ye Winds
  • The Blue Bells Of Scotland
  • Buffalo Gals
  • By The Light Of The Silvery Moon
  • Camptown Races
  • Chinatown, My Chinatown
  • Come And Go With Me
  • Crawdad Song
  • Darktown Strutter's Ball
  • Dear Old Girl
  • Down By The Old Mill Stream
  • Down By The Riverside
  • East Side, West Side
  • Every Time I Feel The Spirit
  • Farewell To Thee
  • Fascination
  • For Me And My Gal
  • Frankie & Johnny
  • The Girl I Left Behind Me
  • Give My Regards To Broadway
  • Go Tell It On The Mountain
  • Goin' Down The Road Feelin' Bad
  • The Gospel Train
  • He's Got The Whole World
  • Hello! Ma Baby
  • Hey Lolly
  • I Love You Truly
  • I Want A Girl
  • I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now
  • Ida, Sweet As Apple Cider
  • In The Good Old Summertime
  • In My Merry Oldsmobile
  • It Ain't Gonna Rain No More!
  • Juanita
  • Let Me Call You Sweetheart
  • Li'l Liza Jane
  • The Marine's Hymn
  • Mary Ann
  • Meet Me In St. Louis, Louis
  • Melody Of Love
  • Moonlight Bay
  • My Gal Sal
  • My Melancholy Baby
  • My Wild Irish Rose
  • Oh, My Darling Clementine
  • Oh! Susanna
  • Oh Where Has My Little Dog Gone?
  • Oh, You Beautiful Doll
  • Our Boys Will Shine Tonight
  • Over The River And Through The Woods
  • Pay Me Money Down
  • Peace Like A River
  • Peg O' My Heart
  • Polly Wolly Doodle
  • Poor Butterfly
  • Pretty Baby
  • Railroad Bill
  • Rock-A-My Soul
  • Row, Row, Row Your Boat
  • Santa Lucia
  • She'll Be Coming Round The Mountain
  • She Wore A Yellow Ribbon
  • Shine On Harvest Moon
  • The Sidewalks Of New York
  • Skip To My Lou
  • Standing In The Need Of Prayer
  • Street Of Laredo
  • Swanee River
  • Sweet By And By
  • Sweet Rosie O'Grady
  • Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  • Take Me Out To The Ballgame
  • That's An Irish Lullaby
  • This Little Light Of Mine
  • This Train
  • Three Blind Mice
  • Three Fishermen
  • The Wabash Cannonball
  • Wait Till The Sun Shines, Nellie
  • When Irish Eyes Are Smiling
  • When The Saints Go Marchin' In
  • When You And I Were Young, Maggie
  • While Strolling Through The Park One Day
  • Wildwood Flower
  • The Yankee Doodle Boy
  • Yellow Rose Of Texas
  • You're A Grand Old Flag

You Can Teach Yourself Uke

Review by: Zathras
Last Updated: 8/24/05

As you can see there is an impressive amount of songs in this set. 59 of the above songs are performed on the DVD.

The book starts with several pages of basics, tuning and strumming. All of the songs have lyrics, music, strum indicators on top of the entire song (/ for downstroke V for up), and chord letters. The font used for the songs is a little small and things can get a little confusing with all that information if you don't follow carefully. The back of the book contains a chord chart.

The DVD is hosted by Bill Bay who opens with a song from later in the book. Then he goes into the basics including tuning, holding, the basics of reading a chord diagram, and time signatures. From this point he teaches a chord or two then goes into several songs using them. Each song has its own chapter stop. This is repeated for the rest of the disk.

Along with one of the "new chord" sections he breifly covers down/up strumming, but nothing is shown after that. The strum types do change(down down up down down, etc) and he mentions syncopated strums but there are no examples outside of the songs. You just have to look at the book to see what he is doing and then try listen close as he is playing. I say listen because his method of strumming just uses his thumb for both up and down (with his fingers wrapped around the top of the uke body). So you can't always easy to see when he is hitting the strings.

It is a well produced video - chords are listed in the upper left during songs, and an inset in the lower right shows the strumming. During the chord instruction parts a chord chart is shown also. During songs there is a backing track that sounds like a Casio keyboard circa 1987.

Really when you boil it all down it really just covers chords and the music is little more than drills to change between chords in time. One thing with the sheer amount of practice material you won't get sick of playing the same song over and over again.

I had envisioned practicing with this disc a lot but in all honesty it is pretty boring. Also the songs don't hold up outside of the backing tracks. I would only recommend this disc if you really need some additional practice material on the basics.


Contact Ukeland